[EVENT] – キラキラFebruary Event by Diamant Rose Italy

Hello there! Nene speaking! (❁´ω`❁)
Yesterday me ‘n Rox took part for the first time in a special event,
“Kira Kira” event by Diamant Rose Italy!

12987218_616560491826569_2388674511325809582_n

Diamant Rose is a company based in Tokyo, Japan, with a branch in Paris, France. Since 2013 it offers to spread the gyaru culture in Europe through its online shop and events (like this one). From September 2014 Diamant Rose has combined with MELM Agency, a fashion and entertainment agency that scouts models and actresses to work between Japan and Europe. Since 2015 it also has a branch in Milan, Italy – exactly where I went to assist the event! ヾ(*´∀`*)ノ

But what is gyaru exactly? As Wikipedia speaks: Gyaru (ギャル) is a Japanese transliteration of the English word ‘girl’. Gyaru fashion is typically characterized by having heavily bleached or dyed hair (mostly shades from dark brown to blonde), highly decorated nails, and dramatic makeup. The makeup typically consists of dark eyeliner and fake eyelashes used in ways intended to make the eyes appear larger, as well as contouring of the face for a slimming effect. Clothing pieces for gyaru fashion differ depending on which gyaru style the individual chooses.

There are truly a lot of sub-categories to look into! (ex: Ganguro, Hime, Agejo..)

For us Europeans is really difficult to buy from Japan, we often have to use expensive services for action figures and so, but thanks to Diamant Rose Italy, we can buy apparel directly from their online shop, or during their events!

At this event it was possible to buy a lot of clothes from different japanese brands. I guess the reason gyaru is really popular is because it has a big range of possibilities: there were lolitish and cute style like LizLisa, but also more romantic and elegant as DaTuRa an even sportivish-punk like Baby Shoop or One Spo!

16708320_629621623913100_7317170455694756323_n16996120_1275333762559656_9131042067360771006_n

Aside from clothes selling, there were two different activities, and I took part in both!

The first one, the reason I encountered this event and awesome organization, was a Cosplayer Selection!  (❁´▽`❁)*✲゚*

Four cosplayers will join DRParis in a Cosplayers Unit, aka they will help DR spread japanese culture and join them during the events! This collaboration means they get to travel a lot, and visit cons abroad, something I’ve dreamed of for years! I have already planned to go to Japan Matsuri (Switzerland) and MCM Comicon (London) and I was thinking of Dokomi (Germany) if I’m free from exams, but this equipe will inspire me to put even more effort in my work! Results will come later in March!

As you know, I’ve been a cosplayer for more than 5 years, starting from some simple costumes, and getting to sew my own dresses, paint them, decorate them and now even building props and armors! I’m proud of the way I’ve come, but the most important thing I’ve learned is: there is always  something new to learn! Every person I’ve encountered, every con I’ve attended, there was always, always some new tecnique to learn, a new piece of advice to listen to, a new anime to watch.. and I’m reeeaaally interested in learning!

I knew Diamant Rose through Facebook, and I had encountered lolita-gyaru-mori-shironuri and other japanese style a lot of times during my experience, and I’ve always admired them so much! I guess all I needed was a push in the right direction, and this event was exactly it!

I decided to reboot my last costume made by me: Dark!Zelda, a skin from SuperSmashBrosh of the all-time-famous game The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess.

16936069_1157490047682536_520771061_o

A lot of thing have changed! For example: I wore the most comfy shoes ever! o(〃^▽^〃)o
I know you can’t see them in the pics, but for me it’s been the biggest improvement of them all (ahahah) always remember to wear good shoes while cosplaying!

On a more serious note: I re-did completely the breast piece, added a back piece and a belt one too! I’m really happy with the outcome! I’d like to add a few more gems, but for now it’s the most complicated outfit I’ve worked on, and I’m happy to see that it’s getting even better ( ´ ▽ ` )

16990172_1157552614342946_947194008_o

I’m glad I got to live with ZombRox this year, because ever since I got more pumped to do better and be better! She helped me attaching the back piece of the armor (I wasn’t able to do it by myself) and without her I wouldn’t be as safe as I am during convention! We’re always there for each other, with a hairbrush, or saline solution for the contact, or to adjust a detail before a pic is taken. That’s what I really enjoy about cosplay, it creates a bond, a connection between people, no matter the age, sex or gender. Anyone can cosplay!

Also going to events with Rox is a truly blessing because she knows so many people! As I said in my Winter Novegro post she introduced me to Diz, as talented as a photographer as he is a good friend! This time I got the chance to know Acchan, more known as Itsuki-chan Cosplay! They cosplayed together back in Aqualandia, and she was such a nice person, I can’t wait to meet her again!

Back to the cosplay: the makeup I used was a thousand times easier, because after the selection I was supposed to change back in casual clothes, so I did not want to have the black contour, lips and eyebrows that I did for Lucca Comics! But I have a shooting with this costume planned ahead where I will do the extreme makeup once more!

17016324_1157490097682531_976415853_o

Here you can see my makeup a bit better; I decided to wear scleras anyway because to me they are the final touch-up to make the whole outfit look stunning! I’m happy to know people enjoyed them! There’s still a lot of fear to wear them, I’d like anyone who wants it to read my review about them, to know my thoughts on how difficult it is to wear them (it is not, at all, siriously, you should give them a try!)

The second event I was talking about was BINGO! ˚✧₊⁎( ˘ω˘ )⁎⁺˳✧༚
There were 5 lucky bags to win, and the awesome staff of Diamant Rose decided to give one extra! Inside there were clothes from japanese brands, such as dressed, coats, tshirts, shorts,,, they truly are a wonderful prize! I did not win any, but I’m pumped to play this game again at the next DR event!

Next time I also want to vlog the event! Have you checked out my YouTube channel yet?
It celebrates a year today!

16935803_1157490411015833_57892787_o

I really had fun! ♪(๑ᴖ◡ᴖ๑)♪
I’m happy because I was able to meet ol’ and new friends, and learn new things!

I guess my favourite brand from the event is Baby Shoop!
I like their style, the fact that most clothes are free sizes, and could be wore by both male and females, makes me melt! I’m really into androginous styles! Why don’t you check out its latest collection?
I also got to know One Spo another brand that fits my style! I’m reallly glad I’ve encountered them!
My dream now is to wear a Classic Lolita / Ouji Lolita dress! If I can afford it and squeeze it in my cons schedule, it would be a pleasure to try!

16711648_253381901781556_651724457011317771_n

Everyone was so cute! Can’t wait to meet them again! (*´∪`)

Keep updated with Diamant Rose new apparel and events:
websitefacebookinstagram – photos of this event

Eireenene.

/photo credits: Diamant Rose Italy

3 thoughts on “[EVENT] – キラキラFebruary Event by Diamant Rose Italy

    • eireenene says:

      Thanks a lot, I’m happy you enjoyed it! I know about that one too! I hope to attend even if I have my exams too ;; I will try to do the tests before or after that weekend, so I can review it for y’all! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

